raft Declaration on rights and duties of States


The “Declaration on Rights and Duties of States,” commonly referred to as the “Montevideo Convention,” is an international treaty that establishes the rights and obligations of sovereign states. It was adopted in 1933 at the Seventh International Conference of American States in Montevideo, Uruguay, and has since become one of the fundamental principles of international law.

The Montevideo Convention outlines the criteria for statehood and sets forth the rights and duties that states possess. According to the convention, a state is defined as a permanent population, a defined territory, a government, and the capacity to enter into relations with other states. These criteria are commonly known as the Montevideo criteria.

The declaration further establishes the rights of states, including the right to territorial integrity, political independence, equality, and self-determination. It emphasizes that states should refrain from interfering in the internal affairs of other states and should respect each other’s sovereignty.

Additionally, the Montevideo Convention outlines the duties of states, including the obligation to respect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of other states, the duty to refrain from the use of force or threat of force against other states, and the duty to settle international disputes peacefully.

Overall, the Montevideo Convention provides a framework for the conduct of states in the international community, emphasizing principles such as sovereignty, non-interference, and peaceful resolution of disputes. It continues to be an important document in international law and is widely recognized and respected by the international community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts