Prohibited degrees


Prohibited degrees typically refer to relationships or marriages that are considered legally or morally forbidden due to close blood ties or existing marital relationships. The specific prohibited degrees can vary between cultures, religions, and legal systems. Here are a few examples of common prohibited degrees:

  1. Consanguinity: This refers to relationships between close blood relatives, such as siblings (brother and sister), parents and children, or grandparents and grandchildren. In many jurisdictions, marriages or sexual relationships between individuals within these degrees are considered incestuous and are prohibited.
  2. Affinity: Affinity refers to relationships through marriage rather than blood ties. It typically prohibits marriage between a person and their spouse’s close relatives, such as a person marrying their father-in-law, mother-in-law, or sister-in-law.
  3. Bigamy: Bigamy is the act of being married to more than one person at the same time. It is prohibited in most legal systems, as it is considered illegal and invalidates subsequent marriages.
  4. Polygamy: Polygamy refers to the practice of having multiple spouses simultaneously. While it is prohibited in many countries, it is allowed in some cultures and religions under certain conditions.

It is important to note that the specific prohibited degrees can vary depending on the jurisdiction, cultural norms, and religious beliefs. It is advisable to consult the laws and customs of your specific country or community to understand the exact prohibitions related to marriage and relationships.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *