Pakistan’s system of government
Pakistani politics operate within the parameters set forth by the Constitution for the nation.


Pakistan is the only Muslim country with a proclaimed nuclear power status, making it the second-largest Muslim country in terms of population. This position affects Pakistan’s standing internationally. It actively participates in the UN and is a key player in the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

Pakistani politics operate within the parameters set down in the constitution that governs the nation. Pakistan is a nation-state in South Asia and an Islamic federal parliamentary republic with Islam as its official religion.

In Pakistan, the executive branch, which is not subject to the control of the state legislature, is solely headed by the Prime Minister. a two-chamber bicameral parliament made up of the Senate (upper house) and the National Assembly (lower house). The Supreme Court serves as the branch’s supreme court, along with the high courts and other lesser courts, to constitute the judiciary branch. The role of the judiciary is to interpret federal laws and regulations as well as the constitution. The President of Pakistan is a ceremonial leader who symbolises the cohesion of the state; he or she plays a crucial role in the Parliament.

There are 4 provinces, 2 territories, and 1 capital territory in Pakistan. A directly elected legislature known as the Provincial Assembly exists in each province. Members are chosen for tenure of five years. Each Assembly chooses a Chief Minister, who then chooses the cabinet ministers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *