Court of Session.


The Court of Session is the supreme civil court in Scotland. It is located in Edinburgh and is composed of two divisions: the Outer House and the Inner House. The Court of Session hears a wide range of civil cases, including commercial disputes, family law matters, personal injury claims, and judicial reviews.

The Outer House is the first instance court where cases are initially heard. It consists of a number of judges known as “Lords Ordinary.” They preside over cases individually and make decisions on matters such as granting interim orders, determining liability, and awarding damages.

Parties dissatisfied with the decisions made in the Outer House can appeal to the Inner House, which is the appellate division of the Court of Session. The Inner House is made up of a panel of judges, usually three or more, who review and decide on appeals from the Outer House. The Inner House is divided into two sections: the First Division and the Second Division. The First Division primarily deals with appeals from the Outer House, whereas the Second Division handles appeals from certain specialized courts, such as the Sheriff Court.

Decisions made by the Inner House can be further appealed to the UK Supreme Court, which is the highest appellate court in the United Kingdom. However, such appeals are limited to cases involving a point of law of general public importance.

The Court of Session also has a historical significance, dating back to its establishment in 1532. Over the years, it has played a crucial role in shaping Scottish legal principles and has heard many landmark cases. It continues to be an essential institution for the administration of justice in Scotland.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *